Your Hand in Mine

2014.01.01Happy New Year to each of you! 2014 has come whether we are ready or not. As is common this time of year, there is lots of talk about goal setting for the coming year. Whether you are a fan of formal goal setting with detailed action plans and time lines, or you simply have a few things in your life that you hope to do better this coming year, I am sure for most people there is a sense of letting go and moving forward when starting a new year. It is not hard to think of the things we failed to accomplish or the things we did not give enough attention to in the last year. But sometimes setting goals and looking forward can be overwhelming.

My pastor recently mentioned how we can succeed at our goals, but often only when we seek God’s hand and guidance in our direction. Perhaps we mistakenly think it is by our own strength that we need to succeed where last year we failed. My guess is, if we try to depend only on our own strength, we will only fail again. So where do we start? Not even in goal setting, but just in this moment of transition from ending to beginning, from looking back to looking forward, from letting go of what has happened to opening our hands to what God has in store next. Where do we find ourselves on this first day of a new year?

You may know this by now, but music is often what God uses to break into my heart. This New Years day is no exception. I heard a new song this past week, (at least new to me), by Bellarive called “I Know You” which you can listen to here. Please listen to it – it is gentle and inviting. I was very touched by the words of this song, and it helps me define where I want to start this year. Here are the words, spoken from God to each of you:

Dry your eyes
I see you
Come inside the doorway
Don’t you hide, My child
Place your hand in Mine

I know
I know you
I know you know I love you
I know
I know you
My grace invites you
Home

Life nor death will keep you
You don’t have to fear
Nothing comes between us
In the end you’re Mine
You’ll be just fine
For you’re Mine
In the end you’re Mine

I know
I know you
I know you know I love you
I know
I know you
My grace invites you
Home
So come home

Though I could talk about all the words in this song, I want to focus on these –

I know – Whatever situation I am in, wherever I have failed, whenever I have succeeded, He knows. The things I am hoping for, the mistakes I fear repeating, He knows. Those feelings I keep locked inside, the thoughts that I have shared with literally no one else, He knows. The expectations I have for the new year, and the actual events that will occur, He knows. Whatever causes my smiles, my tears, my sleepless nights, He knows. What I will celebrate, what I will mourn, He knows.

I know you – Not only does he know everything I am facing, everything in and around me, He knows me. By my God, I am known and understood completely. How utterly precious and amazing is that?

I love you – He knows me, my heart, my situation. And He loves me. Letting Him lead me this year is not something to fear, because he loves me perfectly. I am His. I can trust Him completely.

So this is where I am starting this year. I do have some hopes, expectations and goals for this year. I even have some semi-detailed plans for reaching those goals. But before any of that, I am here, with my hand firmly placed into His hand, the one who loves me, knows me and knows.

I would love to hear from you! How are you feeling at the start of a new year? 

Leave a Reply

